The Indian cricket team commenced their T20 World Cup 2021 campaign in the newly launched “Billion Cheers Jersey” by MPL, which had a fresh and unique take on Team India’s massive fandom. The Men in Blue will continue to don this blend of Prussian blue and Royal blue gear for the upcoming limited-overs matches as well.

However, fans couldn’t help but notice a big change in Team India’s T20 World Cup gear from the Retro Jersey that was launched by MPL, the official kit sponsors of the Indian cricket team, in November 2020 last year. 

The cricket jersey that Indian players wore while facing Australia last year had three stars on their left chest, as opposed to the one star that is visible in the brand new “Billion Cheers Jersey”.

One star on Indian Jersey: Explained

The reason for sporting one star in the ongoing 2021 T20 World Cup jersey is simple - it symbolises the number of times the Indian cricket team has lifted the ICC trophy. The Men in Blue have won the T20 World Cup only once in history, which came under MS Dhoni’s leadership in the 2007 edition.

India had beaten archrivals Pakistan in the final in South Africa to lift the inaugural T20 World Cup tournament and earn a star on their chest.

This is a common practice in international football as well, where teams are seen wearing stars symbolizing the number of World Cups won above their team logo. While the England national football team has one star over their logo, Brazil has five, Germany has four and so on.

Three stars on the Indian cricket team jersey: Explained

Why did the Retro jersey have three stars? This answer is quite simple as well.

When the Indian cricket team participates in any other competition apart from T20 World Cup and ODI World Cup, their emblem will have three stars symbolizing the three World Cup titles that the Asian cricketing giants have won in total.

The Men in Blue have won the 1983 World Cup, the 2007 T20 World Cup and the 2011 World Cup so far, earning three stars on their chest that was seen in the Retro jersey against Australia in 2020.

In fact, when the Indian cricket team will host New Zealand later next month following the T20 World Cup, the number of stars on their jersey will change. With Team India one of the title favourites in the ongoing T20 World Cup, the number of stars might increase as well.

You can order the fan edition of the Indian cricket team jersey from here.

Team India T20 WC Schedule

After playing England and Australia in the practice matches on October 18 and October 20 respectively, approaching the T20 World Cup finals, the Indian cricket team is scheduled to start their World Cup campaign against archrivals Pakistan on October 24.

The high-octane match will be followed by yet another tricky test against New Zealand on October 31. Having lost to the Black Caps in the World Test Championship final, this will be the perfect occasion to settle the score for Team India.

The Men in Blue will next have Afghanistan waiting on November 3 and qualifying teams  The Indian side will then play the two qualifying teams Scotland and Namibia on November 5 and November 8, respectively.

India's squad for T20 World Cup 

Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Rahul Chahar, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Varun Chakravarthy, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohd Shami. Standby players: Shreyas Iyer, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar.